IGNORED

How will the Wii be remembered?

I was talking to a couple guys about how the Nintendo consoles in that era (DS, 3DS, Wii & Wii U) will be remembered and wondered what VGS thought about the topic. Considering it's almost 20 years old, it should have a nostalgia factor going forward.

For me, the topic breaks down into 3 categories: casuals, collectors and gamers. I think so most people who participate in the conversations are gamers by trade, they are the nost unfavorable towards the Wii. Even though a lot not games support the GCN and Pro controller, if a game requires you to shake the controller once the gang cries waggle and knocks points off.

Casuals on the other hand want the waggle since the waggle was the draw in the first place. I don't think waggle controls have been reproduced in any meaningful way outside of the Wii either. If you want to waggle a controller, your boxed into the Wii. 

I don't know how collectors will remember the Wii going forward. The one thing it has going for it was that there is a bunch of cardboard since there were a ton of pack in games. The downside is most of those pack in games were shit shooters or other low budget cash grabs. 

What do you all think? 

The same way that people remember POGs or Beanie Babies.  Everyone was crazy it for a year or two, and then moved on and it will be endlessly be the butt of jokes.

Everyone was acting like motion controls were the next big thing, when they barely worked.  Setup the sensor and calibrate the remotes and they still only work like 80% of the time. They were implemented so poorly and for some reason mandatory, they really were just shoehorned into everything no mater if it made sense or not.  That shallow gimmick got tired fast.