IGNORED

A Taste of 10 Games or All-In on One?

T-Pac

Graphics Team · Posted

Admittedly, I'm not very good at video games. I can't make it very far in most, no matter how hard I try. But because of this, I've come to appreciate the idea of sampling the first few levels in multiple games. It may not be as rewarding as seeing one game through to the end, but it's still fun and scratches that gaming itch. It's also a decent way to combat choice-paralysis and a looming backlog: just play a little bit of everything without much commitment.

Does anyone else enjoy sampling the beginning of multiple games in lieu of immersing yourself in one?

-CasualCart

• Like 2

One of the best video game related decisions I've made in "recent" years was the exact opposite, to actually finish more games, rather than just start a lot of them to get an impression of what they are like.

Playing a game to the end, and playing it over until you learn how to do it well, will give you a completely different appreciation for a good video game, and demonstrate what separates the good from the bad, and the best from the good.

That said, there's always a point in certain games where you also have to be able to convince yourself they aren't worth going on with.

• Like 2
  • Agree 1

14 minutes ago, phart010 said:

When you do start playing games through to completion, you will begin to develop some level of mastery over them. The skills that you gained from mastering any one game should carry over into other games and help you to start beating them too.

Very true. Mastering a handful of platformers will make most platformers a lot easier to breeze through. Same with a lot of genre-specific games.

• Like 1

15 hours ago, Sumez said:

One of the best video game related decisions I've made in "recent" years was the exact opposite, to actually finish more games, rather than just start a lot of them to get an impression of what they are like.