IGNORED

Ok, Xenosaga III. Any clue why it's sky rocketed in price?

RH

I've been collecting since 2016 and I get it, prices move.  I also understand that COVID has also caused a huge spike in buying and purchasing but today I checked in on a few of my games on my collection tracker because I'm wanting to sell.  Anyway, I sorted the list buy price and I was surprised to see my copy of Xenosaga so close to the top.  It's going for over $200 and, in fact, some copies have gone for over $300.

This isn't even the holographic cover.  In fact, when I went to GVN and sorted the PS2 list, I was surprised to see that this is the 7th most expensive (non-special edition) title in the whole collection?!

What?  I mean, this game was more rare than the first two Xenosaga titles but it's not really rare, and since I've followed along with the holo-cover one from time to time, it doesn't surprise that that variant is going up.  However, Xenosaga III seems to have recently shot up a bit more disproportional to other titles.

Did a YouTuber post a video or something?  That often causes a spike.  Anyway, this thing stayed in the $70-80 range for a long while and now, boom, 3x increase since May, but the disc-only value hasn't gone up much at all. I'm confused?

Edited by RH

All import-exclusive JRPGs are gonna skyrocket in price at one point or another. It's no surprise.

Everyone who wants the game will have to get a copy from either Japan or the US, and if you don't understand Japanese you really don't have a choice. So that makes this particular release a coveted one.

I'm surprised Baten Kaitos Origins or Arc Rise Fantasia haven't reached this point yet. It's only a question of time before some YouTube bloke makes a video and all the kids are gonna go nuts for them.

• 2 weeks later...