IGNORED

Your "creative" interviewing process sucks and is probably useless.

RH

So, this is a bit of a rant paired with a bit of advice for any of you that might be responsible for interviewing new hires.  My simple suggestion is this--keep it simple.  Don't get creative, ask good questions and be sure you get to know your candidates.  Seems obvious.

Ok, rant time.  A couple of weeks ago I had a job interview with a Fortune 500 company.  This company isn't a tech company (I'm a software engineering contractor) and I was actually interested in working with them based off the job requirements and some info I gleaned about the culture.  As you may have guessed, I was just told they are "going in a different direct", which is code that I didn't make it.

This is not a problem.  As a contractor, I have to go through a lot of interviews to get the work I want and for various reasons, many of the interviews never pan out.  Some go well, some don't.  Sometimes they do go well and the hiring manager goes to HR to find out they don't have the funds to bring me on.  This happens a lot more than you'd think.  And then there are also times where after the interview I might get an offer but I'm not interested in working with that company.  I know the game and I play it well.  So why has this last interview agitated me?

Well, like I said, the company culture seemed a good fit for me from the job description that was written up, plus what was explained in the interview.  I knew I could do the work but I also knew I could provided a lot of help to the project and their specific needs.  I saw the needs and I was highly motivated to jump in and help and it sounded enjoyable to me and not just like another paycheck.