IGNORED

Lemon Eaters - Where are you? (Please tell me I'm not crazy)

ThePhleo

OK, so I just found out that I may be a psychopath because I eat lemons..

Someone gave me a dirty look and told me I'm insane for just cutting a lemon and eating it. No, not just the inside part. The skin, the rind, the whole thing.

The thing is, I've been doing this since I was 5 years old...slice some lemons, throw tobasco sauce and salt on it and eat. Sometimes I even add some white balsamic vinegar for extra tang.

Please tell me I'm not crazy :(

IMG_0763.thumb.jpg.63b0ab4c398f597d5bbf991226aaa82e.jpg

• Wow! 1
  • Confused 1

• The title was changed to Lemon Eaters - Where are you? (Please tell me I'm not crazy)

You're not crazy.  Everyone who doesn't understand is just a pus-pus.  When I was a kid eating grapefruit for breakfast I'd pile on the sugar.  Then one morning I spontaneously decided that I wanted to taste the grapefruit - been eating 'em sans sugar ever since.  On occasion I'll eat a whole lemon, but I'll only eat the rind if it's an organic lemon.  Can't say I've ever put tabasco on but I'm salivating here at the thought of it and I just finished eating.  I also like eating pomelos including the entire inch thick pith.  

Some people can't handle spicy food and have no desire to acclimate themselves to it.  They are missing out big time.  As a forager I'm always interested in new foods/flavors and I've discovered quite few that are very odd and probably wouldn't be liked right off the bat by anyone.  Sometimes a given flavor is so different from anything else I don't really know what to think of it until I've had it a few times.