IGNORED

CL Auction Analysis: Prices are down about 20% vs. June

KarateBoy2k3

Hello everyone,

I wanted to share some analysis of the CL auction as initial post. I'm a more recent sealed game collector, but I have some experience with CIB and I'm a long-time gamer. In my day job, I work as an investment analyst - so I like numbers. I tried to note the title variance where possible but I could have missed some.

As a starting point, I did a quick comparison across ~50 titles that were sold in both the June and October auction. I like this analysis because its the same auction company, same games, and very often same grade. For those games with a grade different, I show my value adjustment. I definitely a debate input (and I encourage the debate), but the overall conclusion is unchanged: the market as notable softened since the summer.  With a different set of grade adjustment you can get a more negative (or positive) picture market, but they account for the minority of the inputs.

In general, I would say that there are 3 ways to slice the data:

1. What did the average decline per game on an equal weighted basis? 14%

2. What did the average decline per game on a dollar weighted (so more expensive games carry more weight) basis? 16%

3. What is the median decline (half the sample did worse, half did better) 25%

image.png.b2d75c686be701ff37bbb4cc82bc1190.png

This analysis excluded 6 games: the 5 Nintendo GBA classics and SNES Majesco since I don't think they are representative of the market and would bias the sample. The output is attached, however. 

image.png.e4d48ac6f4daa4be685e2d8d8d70e093.png

image.png.8ee6e99ed0a27397e7977bf092734186.png