IGNORED

Potential 2023/2024 off-season contest feedback thread

Red

It's the time of the year when I start thinking about running another one of these contests.  I've been running 10 week off-season contests for the past six years and I'm looking to do a seventh.  Most years revolved around a single console (Sega Master System, Game Boy, Virtual Boy, Nintendo 64), but last year I did a multi console contest where each week a game from a different console and different genre would be played.  I was considering doing that again this year.  Another idea would be having a genre specific contest.  Maybe shooing, racing, or pinball?  If I were do do a console specific one again, I think I'd lean towards doing TurboGrafx-16.  Also considering a PC only contest where all the games would be free downloads.  Thoughts?

• Like 2

• 4 weeks later...
Editorials Team · Posted

Sorry I never responded to this, I'll participate no matter what it looks like. I'll emulate if it's TG-16, though the free-download PC contest sounds intriguing if ever happens.

We could just repeat the N64 contest lineup if someone wants to challenge my score on Ucchannanchan no Hono no Challenger: Denryū Iraira Bo.

I think I participated in the N64 contest and I guess I skipped/missed last year?

There's a part of me that wants to say no to genre contests, but then when I think about the genres, I'm torn.  For 2D platformers and shmups, I'm gonna be inclined to say nah, because @Gloves and @docile tapeworm and a couple others will flat out dominate.

But for a genres like Pinball or even getting creative with requirements for a genre like RPGs sounds fun.  And racing?  I could completely be down with a racing competition.

So, I guess what I'd suggest is if you consider doing a genre competition, maybe select 5-8 genres you'd consider putting up and giving a community poll of what we'd prefer.  It might still end up being shmups, but at least we'd be agreeing to it.

• Like 1