IGNORED

Your favourite N64 3-D Platformer (non-Nintendo/Rare)

Nintegageo

When Nintendo and Rare are excluded it gets interesting.

Personally for me it was Bomberman Hero, it's just so much fun and not like the grid style adventures before and after (2nd attack did which I have too.)  Yet some might consider that one obvious, so another would be Rayman 2 which was amazing on there only topped by Dreamcast but that probably need exclusion since it's ported.  That would also cut out stuff like Gex, Earthworm Jim(terrible anyway), and Toy Story too.

Maybe Bomberman Hero is the answer.  I know there were some weird ones like Space Station Silicon Valley and Buck Bumble but I have little and no experience with those two.  Glover might be a solid choice I remember it being well made.  There's also those 2 Chameleon Twist games, and Starshot I recall people getting into.

I almost want to strongly suggest the totality (all 3 parts doing it right) of Castlevania Legeacy of Darkness, but it's more of an adventure than some mario-ish platformer.

If it were a bit less glitchy I'd say fire up Project64 or whatever's best now on PC, and grab Dinosaur Planet, but that is a Rare game, yet it would be an entirely new experience since it was terminated in beta.

I played thru Rocket Robot on Wheels last year for the first time, it was very good.  It goes for more of physics/puzzle approach rather than lots of janky combat, which gives it a different vibe from all the others trying to ape Mario 64.  Felt pretty laid back and fun.

It was also the first game by Sucker Punch who wen on to do Sly Cooper, InFamous, and Ghost of Tsushima.  Cool to see where they cut their teeth on the 64!

Edited by fox

Yeah there are some great 3D platformers on N64, it's basically the flagship genre of the system.

Obviously everyone is suggesting Rocket, and absolutely yes, you have to play that! Great game.