IGNORED

Broadway - What's Everyone's Favorite?

fcgamer

I've been a big fan of professional theater shows since I was an adolescent heading into my teens. Over the years I've been fortunate enough to see quite a few shows on Broadway, as well as some in venues in Toronto, DC, etc. 

While watching Lion King in New York, I remember the show suddenly stopping at one point after Rafiki had been twirling her staff around. Apparently during the twirl, she ended up hitting herself in the head with it, and had collapsed on the floor. Everyone in the audience initially thought it was an intermission, though it didn't make sense, and then we realized that the actress had been hurt.

I haven't seen any shows for quite awhile, unfortunately, but the big three for me were always (in no particular order) Aida (the Elton John / Tim Rice musical, haven't seen the opera), Les Miserables, and Phantom of the Opera. At the moment the soundtrack for Aida has been getting a lot of playtime at mine, overtaking the other two shows, but those are classics, which also have great soundtracks.

Last year a touring company came to Taiwan to perform the Lion King in Taipei, but since things were still up in the air with covid-19, with a painful heart I declined seeing the show.

Then there's opera, totally different thing but anyone into it? I personally haven't seen any as of yet, but I hope to stop by the recently built opera house in Taichung to catch a performance at some point, if they actually do host performances there. Over the past few years I've been getting into opera music as well.

Lloyd-Webber's Phantom of the Opera is a standout for me, especially soundtrack-wise. Saw the original touring company with Michael Crawford for that one.  Another favorite is Spamalot, as I'm a big Monty Python fan.  That's also the only show I ever saw at an actual Broadway theatre and was lucky enough to catch the first run with Tim Curry, Hank Azaria [who stole the show] and David Hyde Pierce.