IGNORED

Wongo is here

Hey folks - I used to post on NA occasionally and have made my way around the forum sites for years.  As forums are dwindling a bit, I mainly spend my time on AtariAge, but I like to talk about all types of video games classic, modern, whatever.  I am wongojack pretty much everywhere, so you might see me pop up here and there.  I can never get enough of this sh!+, so I am constantly trying out old games and computers or consoles that I've never tried before, and I like to come and talk about it.

Playing Games

In this specific moment, I am playing the Return of the Jedi arcade game a lot and also poking around with Spectrum emulation.  I also threw a few high scores into the Intellivision high score club recently, and I finally won Defender of the Crown on the Atari ST, but I am just as likely to move on to something completely different this weekend.  Who knows.

Collecting

I don't have many collecting goals anymore.  I play a lot of original consoles and computers with flash carts as my preferred method of actually playing games, so that has slowed me down quite a bit, and the allure of storing cardboard boxes inside other boxes inside a closet has worn off.  The area where I tend to be weak is Gameboy.  If I see a big Gameboy lot, I have to check it out.  Those games take up so little space that I tend to splurge when I shouldn't.

Modding, hacking, repairing

I tinker quite a bit, but I'm no engineer.  I've built custom controllers and repaired many consoles and controllers.  I currently have a front loader NES opened up where I think the voltage regulator is bad (but it might be worse).  I'd like to build one of those replacement PCBs from scratch some day and have designs on even building a computer from chips.  Would also like to recap and future proof my Vectrex and Asteroids Deluxe arcade machine - a bunch of other projects like that.

Programming