IGNORED

Pokémon Yellow NES - Shenzhen

Lambda

Hey All,

I picked this up recently for a killer price (saw copies on eBay selling for well over 100$, without the manual).

I put my daughter to bed and decided to fire it up. I know this isn’t an official game for NES, by any means, but the hack seems VERY well done.
Do any collectors out there know anything about this copy? I know this version is highly sought after by hack collectors, I just happened to get my hands on a CIB.

It says in manual that this is a reconstruct of Yellow, but pikachu doesn’t seem to follow you around, the dialogues are extremely short (while delivering the same necessary info to advance from the original), and map layout (by town at least) seems wildly different. Moreover, it says 159 mons exist in the title, while only 151 existed in the original gen1. I’m just starting out, but:

can anyone shed any light on this version at all?

can anyone give further details about what might to be expected? 
(Is the Missingno. overflow glitch still prevalent in the code? 🧐)?

so many questions...

5C14C13D-C744-40C7-9F5D-F5E8BD6E7E02.jpeg

Edited by Lambda

there is a english translation patch for this in romhacking.net that also sheds some light to the differences between this and the real pokemon yellow game. It appears that this is basically a mixed version of some gen1/gen2 stuff while still for some reason being called pokemon yellow.

I've played this a while with the patch and have to say it's fairly well made for what it is (and even has post-game content!)

• Thanks 1

@Mugi