IGNORED

Do any of you guys pay to for anti-virus software on your personal PC? If so, what do you use?

RH

First, I do use anti-virus software.  I hate it but at times it's necessary.  But this has been on a personal machine, I don't click on any email I didn't prompt on and if any company I do business with seems to do anything fishy, I always log directly into their web page from a bookmark, rather than clicking on links in emails.  I'm a pretty safe guy.

But due to reasons I won't bring up (but I am a software developer, so that's enough context) I need to up my game.  The problem is, I simply not had enough reason to care on my personal machine than doing anything else than install a free copy of AVG.

What do you guys use that have paid for Anti-Virus software?  What do you like, what do you not like?  Is it worth it?  I ask these questions because I can certainly google something like "What is the best, personal Anti-Virus Software 2023" and get results.  But I prefer to here people's real opinions and not a single "Top 10" list is going to provide me much information in the way of actual experience.  Plus, I know that none of you guys are trying to sell me something from an affiliate link.

My main desire is to have something that works, is configurable and works 100% in the background, unless a true malicious attempt is caught, and not something intended to scare me like "oh noes!  You have had 1,000 "tracking cookies" installed on your machine!"

So, does anyone have any recommendations for Anti-Virus Software?  I could drop $30-50/year.  I'm not looking to go nuts. 

I just use MS defender which comes with Windows 10. It does the job and isn’t too invasive and if I’m running things it deems I shouldn’t be I can just turn it off or white list items. 

In terms of paid solutions I’ve used Bitdefender plus and I think that was one of the best and easiest to use. The free version is also really good.

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Brickman said: