IGNORED

Earthbound Big Box Authentic vs. Fake....

I'm not really sure what the point of this post is going to be, but this Earthbound Big Box popped up on my feed and it's, umm, interesting.

Earthbound Big Box ONLY NO RESERVE TOYS R US | eBay

I'm no expert or anything, but comparing the color / print quality on this box to an authentic one, it seems clearly inferior / off.  I guess you could chalk it up to sun fading or some sort of variance ( doubtful, I know ).  I'm pretty sure there's a more obvious "tell" ( likely more than that )without doing the comparisons, but if the pics were angled a bit differently this one might pass.

I looked through the seller's history and they had other EB boxes sold:

EarthBound Big Box & Tray (Super Nintendo 1995) NO RESERVE Snes 45496830434 | eBay

Due to the photos, this one looks a bit more passable and the color seems better, although it might just be the way the pics were taken (  lower light idk ).

And another:

Earthbound box and tray only Super Nintendo SNES Toys R Us NO RESERVE | eBay

So someone takes a fake box, does some "relicing", going as far as adding a Toys R Us bag, price/store stickers, receipts, and beating it up slightly.

IIRC I made a similar topic back when NA was around and a few people chimed in.  I bought one of the repro boxes myself back in the day just to be able to compare / be aware of what was out there.  I'm not personally interested in this at this point, but given people are potentially being ripped off to the tune of $1-1.5k, I thought it might be something worth posting ( 2 of the previous buyers left positive FB on the boxes they bought ).  I'm kind of preaching to the choir as far as this forum is concerned, I imagine everyone does their due diligence and whatnot prior to buying stuff but just doing a quick search there weren't exactly a lot of resources on comparing authentic vs fake EB boxes ( perhaps with good reason ).