IGNORED

Tips for improving soloing (guitar)

fcgamer

I know there's a lot of talented guitarists on here, during the past two months of soft lockdown in Taiwan I've been playing so much guitar, I feel like my ability has improved more in such a short time than it did in the past ten years, and I've been playing for about fifteen years anyways, off and on (though generally solo, not with others).

I have a good grasp on music theory and play a few other instruments as well, for what it's worth.

My weak point has always been soloing though. I'm considering paying for lessons at a local guitar shop to address this (I still might, just for the social / accountability aspects) , but I'm wondering if anyone here has suggestions for basic and intermediate guitar soloing techniques.

Thanks!

This is my specialty.  Its hard to even know where to start.  Sometimes its as simple as just jumbling the notes around randomly.  Cant learn to swim without being in water.  

Learn about avoid notes.  Notes that are a b9 above a chord tone.  They contain a lot of tension.  Know what they sound like is really important.  One easy way to be safe is any time you have two notes a half step apart, pick the one a half step lower (IE B/C, pick B)

Understand you color tones vs your chord tones.

Learn the entire neck, not just one position for a scale.  The more ways you can play the same scale on different strings/different fingerings will get you out of getting lost.  Especially when improvising and keys are changing fast.  But thats an advanced thing. 

Understand the concept of modes.  Modes are just parts of the major scale, but when used on their own, have their own unique sound.