IGNORED

Looking for feedback on a potential 2022/2023 Off-season Contest

Red

I've been running a weekly contest for the past five years during the off-season of the NES weekly contests.  I would always have it centered around a different console, the first two years being Sega Master System, then Game Boy, then Virtual Boy, and then Nintendo 64 last year.  If there's sufficient interest, I'd like to run another contest this year.  I was thinking of doing it a bit differently this year though.  Instead of doing one console, each week would be a game for a different console and each game would be of a different genre.  Alternatively, it could be genre specific contest, so every week would be a game from the same genre, but on a different console.

Another variation to consider is an idea @Splain posted during the N64 contest:

"What if there were some crazy meta-mechanic of presenting all 10 games/challenges right at the get-go, then allowing everyone to submit one score per week, whichever game they want. If the problem is that people don't have the same amount of playing time from one week to the next, then they can budget the time they DO have however they want to, and either submit a throwaway score for games they don't really want to sink into, slam out a good score for games they're already good at, save their time for games they want to spend more time on, etc. That would also keep people (to some degree) from hiding their score till the very end of the week; anything they've already submitted can't be improved upon, and everyone else can see what they're up against, bit by bit, as the weeks go on."

I think that would be an interesting twist for a genre specific contest.

Of course, I could just do another contest like I've done in the past.  Maybe do PS1 this year?  Sega Genesis?  Sega Master System again?  Game Boy again, but include Game Boy Color and Advance games as well?  I would like to hear what other people think.

• Replies 7
  • Created