IGNORED

NES - Rambo - PRG0 vs PRG1 and do both exist in USA somewhere?

Newbie here. For years I've wondered if both PRG0 and PRG1 versions of the Rambo NES cart exist out there in the wild, and if so, are there ways to visually tell them apart by just looking at the physical cart?  I don't know what all the differences are between the two, but as far as actual inside the game changes I do know the initial conversation with Trautman has the word "hell" in PRG0 which was removed/reworded in PRG1. I've attached screenshots from Nestopia UE of what I'm referring to.

Practically every copy of the game has "REV-A" on the caution sticker on the back of the cart. Would that indicate the censored PRG1 version?

image.jpeg

Edited by snakeyez
REV-A question
  • Like 1

If the cartridge has not had it's back swapped out at any point in the last 30+ years, then the way to tell if a NES game has had a program revision is by looking for a debossed "A" or "B" on the back caution label, just beside the word "caution" itself.  Check your copy of Castlevania for a very common example, as 98% of all copies have been revised.  If there is no debossed letter on the back of the cartridge (assuming no back-swaps) then you've got a PRG0 inside...

EDIT: and REV-A indicates the switch from 5-screw to 3-screw carts, just to clarify that for you.

Edited by Dr. Morbis

Short of firing up the cart or opening it up, I don't think there's a way.  I did just check mine, it's a PRG-0.  The only notable thing I saw was the screws themselves - they weren't security screws.  Not sure if that's a common thing, but it's not unheard of generally.  Per the previous post, there is "REV-A" written on the back label, indicating a 3-screw cart, which it is, but there is no other letter stamped on it.

13 hours ago, Dr. Morbis said: