IGNORED

GameBoy Club intros?

Grondorr

Figured our club is small enough we could do intros if people are up for it.

I'll start. I live in an NYC apt, and I've been collecting games for less than 3 years. I started pretty haphazardly and was collecting mostly loose games from a wide variety of systems. Even from the beginning I knew that as an apt dweller, that handheld collecting was probably going to be easier.

Pretty early on though I started focusing on GameBoy Advance, because the GBA SP was the first Nintendo system I owned, and really the first Nintendo handheld that I felt was worth a damn. (I know I'm wrong, as there are great games on the GB/GBC, but when I was younger I owned Game Gear and Lynx, because I felt bright color screens were important for enjoyment.)

The GBA SP was the first handheld that really ticked all the boxes for me of great screen, nice form factor and decent battery life. It was also the first Nintendo handheld with a rechargeable battery, which at the time was a greatly appreciated change.

I mentioned this in another post, but my journey has now evolved to the point where I want to collect a full boxed GBA set in the best condition I can, and would eventually like to upgrade it to a full MINT condition set. Although I plan to get all GBA Video and eReader titles, I don't personally consider them part of the main set. I also am going for the full NFR set.

I'm also have a decent collection of loose GB/GBC, but it's not a focus and I don't have any particular goals. Same (to a lesser extent) for interesting CIB and sealed GB/GBC games. For example, I will probably go for all the Pokemon and Zelda games. (GBC and GB are more like acquisitions of opportunity. If I see a nice lot, or someone offers me something nice, I'll probably add it to my collection.)