IGNORED

Windstorm causes fires northwest of Denver.

Tabonga

JamesRobot and I had lunch together at 1:00 and the winds came up suddenly - fierce enough that it was hard to walk against.

It apparently downed power lines and started grassfires (it has been really dry) which are threatening some populated areas.  The fires are nowhere near either of us - but I feel really sorry for people who are evacuating and may lose their homes.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2021/12/30/boulder-wildfires-thousands-ordered-flee-their-homes-colorado/9057234002/

Edited by Tabonga
  • Wow! 1
  • Sad 1

Back in 2016 my grandmothers home town of Gatlinburg TN was nearly destroyed by fires caused by a windstorm.  The wind picked up branches and threw them into transformers, which exploded and dropped onto dry leaves from a summer long drought.  

I was a 911 operator at a time and we all watched the whole thing unfold from afar.  We sent firefighters down, about two hours away.  It was scary and sad.  

I hope you guys stay safe.  😞

Edited by Rhapsody98
  • Thanks 1

Events Team · Posted

Dude, it is crazy out here.  Rocky Flats reported 116 mph gusts.  Boulder is on fire.  Here's a long shot looking north from my work.

ohdSI2h.jpg

I had to go to the Discount Tire near me after work.  The roof was blown off and the building collapsed.  Lord I hope they were able to evacuate. 

dXXbc0H.jpg

• Wow! 1
  • Sad 3

Events Team · Posted

Just heard an update on the radio.  Mandatory evacuations in Boulder, Louisville, and Superior.  1600 acre fire and 500 homes lost so far.  Firefighters have pulled out and are unable to fight due to the high winds.  Likely the worst fire in state history.  😢

Edited by JamesRobot
  • Sad 1

6 minutes ago, JamesRobot said: