IGNORED

Today marks two years since my wife's passing...but last 5/10 was also 20 years since UK graduation

Estil

So essentially I had both a sad sort of anniversary as well as a happier anniversary about a month ago.  Last May 10 marks the 20th anniversary of me graduating from the University of Kentucky (BA history, BA political science)...which to date I consider the second happiest day of my life.  Yes I know they're not those trendy, sexy STEM majors and I knew all along they didn't have anywhere near six figure earning potential but I studied the subjects I enjoyed most and I got to experience lots of good memories during my time at UK...especially the night before graduation when some of my dormmates (I was in Blanding 3 (RIP) Room 208 all four years believe it or not) and I played Mario Kart 64 and watched Jackass on MTV (don't ask) together.  Now I've not been back to UK since but I can't get over how much about it has changed in the past 20 years...not the least of which the Kirwan-Blanding dorms, K-Lair Grill, and the original Student Center are gone.

But today marks a very sad anniversary...I cannot believe it's already been two years since I got the phone call early the morning of June 9, 2021 that my wife passed away. 😢 I actually have among her belongings from the nursing home (Columbia Healthcare in Evansville to be exact; there weren't any in our hometown she could use sadly) one of those peel off 365 day calendars showing June 8 with a few notes/figures she wrote on it...not knowing it'd be her last full day on Earth. 😢  BTW I want to thank everyone here once again for all the support/encouragement you gave me as well as how several of you chipped in some money for me to help pay for final expenses and such (I'm glad she opted for cremation so that I can always keep both her and our dearly departed first cat Tweetie's ashes close by me in my apt and not just buried in the ground somewhere miles away).