IGNORED

How Long Will You Have Your Digital Games?

Tekdrudge

I started getting off topic in the "Outrage Culture" thread, so I thought I would move the conversation here.

I own physical games that are nearly 40 years old and they still work. I might have to clean them periodically but they work and are playable. Many people now days just buy digital games. However, a lot of people seem to have forgotten that the Nintendo Wii store shut down last year. If you didn't download your digital games they are gone forever. I am expecting the PS3 side of the Playstation store to shutdown within the next couple of years. This is the primary reason I still do physical games.

I have been slowly downloading all of the games I have in my PS3 digital library (Mostly from PS+) to a 1TB HDD I installed in my PS3 a few years ago. However, at some point entire digital libraries will disappear. It might be awhile but it will happen. I have been saying this for at least five years, but many people don't seem to understand or care. But when that one hard to find game, they owned a digital copy of and that they love is gone, I know they will care. The gaming system/culture is slowly evolving into "Buy the game again on the new system!" and I don't like it.

What are your thoughts?

Graphics Team · Posted

Ive come to the conclusion that digital games are fine. Buy them on sale on steam so you can carry them over to your next computer if you have to and they go cheap enough that im not worried about losing them because I don't have much money invested in them.

For me,  I do like to go back to games from time to time but 9 times out of 10 if I'm revisiting a game,  it's something from my childhood that I have a hard copy of. It's very rare I like a new game enough to play it again. I dont care that much if I cant play a game because it's gone from the digital shop, theres tons of games out there that I could play instead.