IGNORED

Star Keeper - General Collector’s Discussion

Lambda

All things Star Keeper (for the collectors!)

I realize that Star Keeper is a homebrew game, but at this point all copies have been put into the hands of collectors. I also realize that this may limit this threads discussion to the 100+ owners/collectors since this game cannot be dumped to ROM.

That being said, this thread is meant to be about all things Star Keeper. I’m passionate about having this game for a few reasons:

1) the game is fantastically crafted and well put together

2) I’m a hobby developer and love seeing other people’s work.

The creator of Star Keeper (87Arts) has stated that he had never really done NES dev work before. He dove right in and crafted his own mapper (which is why the game cannot be dumped to ROM), (presumably his own PCB), coded the game, published and distributed it all on his own. This is a great feat for someone new to developing.

This thread is intended for general discussion by all collectors regarding a range of topics. Feel free to ask questions and share information about this game! 
This thread is an appreciative nod to 87Arts, from all of us who love having this game in their collection (and most importantly, Playing it!)

I have been asked questions about this game by many individuals/owners. In light of this, here are some questions and food for thought regarding some discussions that we may all benefit from:

How many levels are there?

How can I tell the difference from GE, LE, and SE copies?

Whats the cheat code all about?

Has anyone seen the physical PCB themselves after taking the cart apart?

Has anyone beaten the game?

Was the boss fun?! Is there a boss?!

General thoughts on playability and fun factor?

What is a copy going for these days?

...and anything else you might think of.

Star Keeper Collectors: discuss it all here!!

Ill start by sharing something new I had uncovered: