Jump to content

November 2021 Read: I Have No Mouth & I Must Scream by Harlan Ellison


Recommended Posts

I Have No Mouth & I Must Scream by Harlan Ellison


First published in 1967 and re-issued in 1983, I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream contains seven stories with copyrights ranging from 1958 through 1967. This edition contains the original introduction by Theodore Sturgeon and the original foreword by Harlan Ellison, along with a brief update comment by Ellison that was added in the 1983 edition. Among Ellison's more famous stories, two consistently noted as among his very best ever are the title story and the volume's concluding one, Pretty Maggie Moneyeyes.

Since Ellison himself strongly resists categorization of his work, we won't call them science fiction, or SF, or speculative fiction or horror or anything else except compelling reading experiences that are sui generis. They could only have been written by Harlan Ellison and they are incomparably original.

"I Have No Mouth & I Must Scream"
"Big Sam Was My Friend"
"Eyes of Dust"
"World of the Myth"
"Delusion for Dragonslayer"
"Pretty Maggie Moneyeyes"

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
On 11/24/2021 at 3:02 PM, Reed Rothchild said:

Finished it.  Title story was great. A few others were okay.  Rest were pretty weak.

I agree, but I didn't even think the title story was that good. Cool concept but the writing felt like it was trying too hard to sound grandiose. The other stories didn't seem to have the same airs.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

  • Create New...