IGNORED

Happy 25th birthday Nintendo 64...and IGN for that matter! I played N64 with dormmates day before UK graduation

Estil

Wow can you guys believe the Nintendo 64....and for that matter IGN, is already 25 years old???  And I personally have one very special Nintendo 64 memory...on the night of May 9, 2003, the day before I graduated from UK, some of my dormmates (I was in Blanding 3  Room 208 all four years; RIP Kirwan/Blanding dorms) and I celebrated my graduation by playing Mario Kart 64 and watching Jackass on MTV together! 🙂   I don't suppose any of you got a Nintendo 64 for Christmas 1996 like these kids did? 😄 

• Like 2

n64. the first video game system i bought with my own money. and my first system since the NES.   i keep my retro game systems in the basement, all hooked up to an old console CRT TV. it's amazing. i refuse to move the n64 down there, because it can't be that old. i bought it with my money from working my job. If it goes down to the retro area, what does that say about my own age? So it stays upstairs next to the Switch. 

I bought the N64 the day it came out (I was 19), that was my thing on consoles for every generation from Nintendo to date, almost wasn't anymore thanks to PiiU though. 😄

I remember going to various stores for months in advance after seeing what NP magazine threw out there wanting to experience it for myself.  I'd hope there wasn't a line so I could really crack into Bomb-omb Battlefield or one of the others, depending if it had been reset already or they retained the data.  I'd give it a good 10-15min as long as no one was around to be fair, not a kiosk troll like some people were.  3D games never sold me other than specific sensible genres up to that point because they controlled, camera angled/controlled, and typically also looked like crap.  Mario broke that mold, shattered it, it's why for years after people still used that as a model (if not Ocarina for the lock-on.)