IGNORED

Complete noob trying futilely to work on a bug, please save me from myself

Khromak

Hopefully there are still some good NES programmers out there who can help me out with a little side project I decided to take on.

I could explain all the debugging and troubleshooting I did to get to this point, both so you can laugh at my expense and also so you could help me figure out what's ACTUALLY going on here, but I'm going to assume, for the purposes of my question, that everything I think I know about what's happening in the code is true.

That said...I'm really getting lost at this point in the code (I've included a screenshot from the Mesen debugger). Presumably the value from location 65B9 is supposed to go into 04A3, which makes a lot of sense because in the current game state the value is $75, which would make a lot of sense logically (trust me on that one). But somehow, the very next instruction, which is taking the value of the A register and putting it into 04A3, is returning a value of $B1. In the debugger in Mesen I can even see that the value of the A register is $75, and it continues to be $75 as I step through these lines of code.

My current guess is that there's some simultaneous processing happening at the same time which is also accessing the A register and screwing it up between these two instructions.

So uh. Is that happening? If so, what can be done about this? For what it's worth, sometimes this code works flawlessly dozens or maybe hundreds of times in a row, but then (seemingly) randomly it will get messed up.

Any advice is appreciated, if you want more details about the background I'm happy to provide any/all background that may help. It's not some great secret or anything, I just left those details out to avoid making this wall-o-text even worse.

MesenDebugger.png.e2876a964369cb1f429e8f1e4877428e.png

7 hours ago, Khromak said: