IGNORED

Sorry for another Grading Question: For WATA CIB Grades, is a 10.0 even possible?

RH

Grading exceptional quality, CIB games seems like a bit of a catch-22.  If you took an exceptional sealed game, opened it and sent it to WATA for grading, there's a good chance that all of the component parts could be 10.0 quality.  However, when WATA goes to grade everything, they have to open the box. This might not affect clamshell games, but when it comes to cardboard, this means that WATA has to damage the box by adding a crease to the folded side of the flap. I assume taking out the box content shouldn't be a problem, but I am assuming that opening the game, even once, will leave a noticeable change to the flap crease and will, thus, ding the grade.

So, has there been any real example of a 10.0 graded CIB game, especially that came in cardboard?  Can there even be a 10.0?  My guess is no, but I'm no expert on the matter. I am curious about it, though.  What is likely the highest grade a cardboard boxed game can get CIB?

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Gloves said:

10 exists on their scale, and they have photo references for it, so presumably it is possible.

https://www.watagames.com/what-we-do/wata-scale

image.png

Even though I have seen that, I still don't feel like it answers the question.  A 10.0 box is fresh out of a case. Regardless, if you open a box, you're going to damage the box in a way that doesn't happen from normal factory processes.

I see they have a 10.0 example and, I assume they certainly opened that box to get the 10.0 cart and the 10.0 manual, but was this grade before, or after they opened it for the photo?  Did they fudge the grade for the photos because the front face was a 10.0, but they weren't showing the top side with the creased flap?