IGNORED

Doctor Who Thread (Dr. Who)

Any fans of the original series? I'm a huge Tom Baker fan. Thought David Tennant was great too. Haven't watched the new stuff. Thought about it, but good heavens! apparently it's flaming garbage...

17% audience approval...

Well, I'll go watch Genesis of the Darleks from Baker's 1st season, it's one of the best episodes, in my opinion...

Screenshot from 2020-03-28 21-24-55.png

Big Doctor Who fan. Tom Baker is the best, I agree. He was the Doctor I watched as a kid on PBS 🙂  I like the modern revival as well but the last couple years it's really changed a lot and hit or miss from one episode to the next. I  really enjoy Peter Capaldi's portrayal of the doctor. I put him right up there with the likes of Tom Baker and Jon Pertwee. My favorites in order  based only the TV show (not any of the comics or big finish audios) would be something like this below. Tom is always at the top but some of the newer Doctors could go up or down on the list. Colin Baker will always be at the bottom as well cause he absolutely sucked and shouldn' t have ever had the role IMO. Only reason I put McGann and Hurt low on the list as they are pretty much Cameo Doctor's as far as on screen goes. I wish McGann would have been given at least a full season. I know it didn't work out with the failure of the TV movie in '96 but I think it could work even today as he's aged well. The mini-episode for the 50th Anniversary where he regenerated into the War Doctor showed that well. I have Jodie at #10 currently as I've enjoyed her portrayal of the Doctor but not so much the stories she has been in. I'd say I enjoyed around half of the episodes from the last 2 seasons enough to ever watch them again.

1 Tom Baker

2 Peter Capaldi

3 Jon Pertwee

4 Patrick Troughton

5 David Tenant

6 Christopher Eccleston

7 Matt Smith

8 Peter Davidson

9 William Hartnell

10 Jodie Whittaker

11 Sylvester McCoy

12 Paul McGann

13 John Hurt

14 Colin Baker