IGNORED

Game Engine Building #5: Background Compression

MRN

BACKGROUND

First off let me say that I am a noob programmer and I don't know what I'm doing. 
However, this tutorial should give you a good start towards simple background compression.
Also, there is a minor bug in the final program.  I'm tired of messing with it, but if someone
finds it, I'd love to fix it.  This tutorial also assumes a working knowledge of NES programming.

The purpose of background compression is just that:  to make your program smaller.  It works
best with a large number of rooms, but can be beneficial to most anything.  For example,
in my personal program, I did not design it to support this routine, and as a result, the
compression took up a shit ton more space than it would have knowing what I know now, but
it still shrank the stuff down to 25% of its original size.  In this example, we will make
4 rooms.  Uncompressed, this would run you 960 bytes per room (or 3840 bytes total).  Compressed,
the 4 rooms take up about 663 bytes, or 17.3% of their original size.  The point is obvious. 

Compressing stuff is not very complicated, there are just a bunch of little steps.  In this
example, we are going to steal and build on BunnyBoy's "background" program and "mario" CHR
file. 

Assuming that you are making your own game, you would want to make all of your tiles and put
them into a CHR file like the mario one that we are using.  You want to be able to view them
in a PPU viewer for use in construction of meta tiles that will come later.

1215366606_MarioTiles.PNG.2223d53f6a79591f05cf18421e19d2b2.PNG

We see that most of the 8*8 tiles in this tile set are used to construct 16*16 blocks.  We
just take this natural tendency and use it to make stuff smaller.  Once you have your nice tile
set, we need to make what are called "Meta Tiles". 

258739539_MarioMetaTiles.PNG.8b60cbaae019b4ccfbe7228d9d8f0933.PNG

Or, make rooms.

Graphics.thumb.PNG.9bf37f6e3f84fd36df3d2b654f816ec5.PNG