IGNORED

How to get into Commodore 64? Beginner

acromite53

I'm interested in getting a Commodore 64 to listen to its music and watch demos on it. I love the SID music. I have no experience or knowledge about the C64. What are some things I need to know as someone in the US? Use a US or PAL system? Is there only one model? What are the best ways to load roms? Use flashcarts or usb? Use RAM upgrade? Do I need to get a PAL system? Will I run into display problems with pal 50hz system/roms? Anyone have any knowledge of music player programs for c64? Thanks everyone.

I want to run stuff like this:

• Like 1

I'm no expert, but my suggestion would be to get a flash drive of some type as your first stop and then to pick up a US system first since that's where you're based.  If you want access to all the cool PAL-specific demos and such, pick up a PAL system too (or at least the chips for one, if you're willing to do a mod to be able to switch it back and forth--guides are available online on how to do that), but I wouldn't make that the focus of your initial setup.  RAM upgrades are definitely worthwhile if you're wanting to play some of the more advanced games and see some of the bigger/better demos, but shouldn't be a priority out of the gate versus making sure you've got an effective way to get software on and off the system.  If you really want to mess around with actual disks, you'll need to pick up at least one drive, if not two, but again, my suggestion is to go for a flash based solution since they're ultimately cheaper and easier to deal with.

• Thanks 1

9 hours ago, darkchylde28 said: