IGNORED

So ... I’ve never been to a con, but I’d like to. Questions.

Lago

I’m talking specifically about video game related cons.  I’m located in Panama City, Florida.  With that being said I’d like to stay within a days travel.

Can you recommend a good con for someone that’s never been?  I’d prefer to not go to a huge one for my first one.

Is a con a good place to buy games?  Are they typically kid friendly?  Would there be things for my wife and kids to do if they didn’t want to attend?  What’s been your experience at cons?

Looking forward to hearing from the community!

I’ve been to one “geeky” con in my life, so I’m a bit of an expert at the subject now. (that’s sarcasm mind you)

I went to TooManyGames this year and I can’t believe what I’ve been missing out on all these years. I felt I could just let go and geek out and not have a conservative “normie” attitude to 30 year old plastic grey squares.

The only thing I really noticed that wasn’t family friendly is the very VERY few lewd cosplayers (either accidentally or purposely). The ones walking around in spandex without a dance belt...seriously guys, I don’t need to know your religion from across the building. There was one REALLY legit Attack on Titan monster there though.

• Like 1

I've only been to two gaming cons - TooManyGames (Philly area) and Midwest Gaming Classic (Milwaukee).  I agree with @ThePhleo - from my limited experience with gaming cons, I'd call them pretty kid-friendly... the cosplay is far less risque than at ComicCon.