IGNORED

Long Term Storage and Batteries

enix2093

I've been collecting for 38 years and have a lot of old stuff that I do play here and there. Many of them are pretty pricey now, and I keep 90% of my games complete, but I do still play them
I'm going to be living in Japan for 5+ years and I don't plan on dragging my collection along with me.  My main concern is anything happening with leakage or whatever on my cartridges while I'm gone and won't be around to occasionally power them on or play them.  I have a lot of pricey stuff on NES, SNES, and Genesis and I'd hate to have this stuff get damaged if its as simple as spending $100 on batteries, and replace all of my old retro game cart save batteries (NES/SNES/Genesis) with new Panasonic coin cells.

As a collector, would you consider a game devalued if the save battery was replaced in preparation for long term storage?
Would it be more ideal to just remove all of the batteries for storage, then replace them when I get back?
Is this just stupid and paranoid and I should just leave them as-is?

nL635qs.jpeg

I don't think replacing batteries devalues games at all, since I've never even heard a single person mention it until now.  Out of the 54-ish NES games that have batteries, I've changed out about half of mine, pretty much any time they dip below 3.0 volts, but some of the originals are still going strong after thirty-plus years!

Anyway, my advice to you is to just open up the ones you've got and test them with a multi-meter, and swap out any that are at 2.9v or below...

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

They age over time, regardless of RAM contents.  What affects the drain rate the most is the individual RAM chip, and seems that Nintendo must have been pretty strict about their suppliers, because NES cart saves seem to have great longevity.