IGNORED

Your Favorite Assembler and Why?

MachineCode

Favorite NES Assembler  

15 members have voted

1. 1. What is your favorite NES assembler?

• NESASM3
    • CA65
    • ASM6
    • Other (please explain in comments)

I want to get back into learning NES development but am curious about which assembler to use. Tutorials like Nerdy Nights are centered around NESASM3 while others I see use CA65. Then I've read people saying that NESASM3 was limited and that I should use ASM6 but found far fewer resources centered around it. I know that in the end, a solid understanding of 6502 ASM and the NES's unique aspects (memory map, parsing the controller input byte, etc.) are most important, but I'm curious to know what the members of the homebrew community here prefer and why.

Edited by MachineCode

I have no experience outside of NESASM3. I think the "limitations" are mostly related to older versions. If there are any, I either haven't run into them or the affect is so complicated that I have no desire to attempt it anyways. As far as I know, no other users of NESASM3 have had issues completing any of there games due to limitations. @KHAN Games has created nearly a dozen games with it!

There are some legitimate complaints for each assembler out there. It came down to that the Nerdy Nights tutorials were very simple to follow and that is what I used to learn.

• Like 1

I use ca65 for a few reason:

• The config file for the linker, while really confusing at first, is really flexible and a great way to organize your rom
  • There's a lot of people on nesdev using it, so it's easy to get help/support
  • There's quite a few powerful features (of which I only use a small percentage)
  • cc65 is part of the suite of tools that come with it, and it's nice to be able to mix C and assembly fairly easily